Down Under (Adventures in Australia)

I know it has been a long time, but I have been very busy with schoolwork… and with eating everything within my reach. I have been studying in Sydney for the past four months, meeting new people and learning about a completely new culture. Sydney is an amazing city, with plenty things to do, sites to see, and things to eat. It’s great to be able to eat things that you would never find in Boston. There are south-east Asian restaurants everywhere, cheap or upscale, regional or fusion; there are too many choices!

While people do speak the same language here, I have found myself unable to understand certain phrases or individuals. For example: superlatives here are a little different; instead of “the coolest” it would be “cool as”… cool as what? I’d often find myself saying. Here a few teasers : P . Expect to see another post real soon!

-Andrés

 

  1. Its cool as to hear that ppl don’t understand our lingos. I know i tend to get a bit lazy with my words sometimes and thats when the aussie lingos come in handy 🙂

    When I boston it took me a while to adjust to the accent which i found awesome. I must admit, I didnt pick up or hear any american lingos while I was there??

    Sounds like you enjoyed Sydney! Hope you got to eat lots of food while you were here.

      • andresrcastello
      • April 17th, 2011

      Aussie lingo does shorten words and phrases up, very handy!
      The boston accent is quite strong and I’m not surprised you didn’t pick up any lingo, we don’t have any interesting phrases… other states do have some crazy ones though.

      I still have a few weeks left in Sydney so I will keep enjoying the city and eating as much as I can before I have to lave.

      -Andres

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

