Recipe: Hamburger with Caramelized Onions and Avocado slices

Summer is the time of the year to bust out that grill and prepare delicious BBQ’s and grilled veggies. Sadly, I live in the city and don’t have one, but that doesn’t stop me from enjoying summer favorites. This is a simple burger recipe that can either be done on the grill, or with a skillet. Delicious, fresh, and perfect for a hot summer day.

Everyone has their own technique/secret for making hamburger patties. I personally do not like to put anything in the beef, if you are paying for good quality beef, why mask the delicious flavor? I make sure the patties are compact, and generously put salt and pepper on the outside, to make a ‘crust’. I also prefer to make them in a pan or on a flat griddle, it keeps all the juices from falling into the grill.

Hamburger with Caramelized Onions and Avocado Slices

Ingredients (Makes 6 burgers)

  • hamburger wheat buns
  • 1 large tomato
  • 1 head boston lettuce
  • 1.5 pounds of lean ground beef
  • 1 ripe avocado (sliced thinly)
  • 3 medium onions (sliced)
  • half a stick of organic butter
  • salt and pepper
  • YOUR favorite toppings!

Onions:

  1. To prepare the onions, slice them very thin into rings
  2. In a pan melt 1 tbsp of butter and add the onions. Cook on medium-low heat, stirring constantly until golden.
    If you are not going to be constantly stirring, lower the heat to reduce the risk of burning the onions.
  3. Set aside

Hamburgers:

  1. Separate the beef into 6
  2. Hold the beef in one hand and slap it into the other. Keep doing this until it is compact and shape it into a burger patty.
  3. Generously salt and pepper the patties
  4. In a hot pan or griddle place a thin slice of butter, melt it, and place a patty on top.
  5. Cook until 3/4 cooked from the bottom and flip once
  6. Remove and let cool for 4 minutes to rest.
  7. Place on toasted buns, top with your favorite ingredients, press down and enjoy!

To slice the avocado simply cut it in half lengthwise, twist and separate. With a knife carefully remove the seed, and peel of the skin. Using a sharp knife, slice into thin slices.


  1. I’ve never tried a burger with avocado in it. mmmm… I can only imagine what it’d taste like with those caramelized onions! yum!!

      • andresrcastello
      • July 11th, 2010

      The avocado gives it a buttery texture and flavor… it’s so good : P

  2. I can almost smell the onions; I try to keep caramalized onions in the frig all of the time, they are great to add to all sorts of dishes. Love the ingredient photo too.

      • andresrcastello
      • July 13th, 2010

      Thanks! I didn’t know how easy it was to make the onions… they’re really worth the time invested haha

      How long would they last in the fridge?

    • Cynthia
    • August 17th, 2010

    I like the look of those onions. I always get impatient with caramelizing onions and end up burning them. And I can sympathize with the grilled veggies — I don’t have an oven anymore so I can’t even roast them either.

  3. That looks so great (so does your other post on pasta). Love avocado on burgers and caramelizing onions is so worth the time.

  4. I adore avocado, my partner would love this burger and I could easily make a veggie version for myself 🙂

      • andresrcastello
      • April 17th, 2011

      Yeah, avocados are one of my favorite fruits! What do you think of some grilled portobello or some char-grilled shiitakes for a veg-version?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

